top of page

Summer/Autumn Workshops 2023

'Shoot' 2012 handcoloured etching 58x56 cm.JPG

Etching Classes

Tuesday 25th July 2023 10.00am-4.00pm

Tuesday 1st August 2023 10.00am-4.00pm

Tuesday 8th August 2023 10.00am-4.00pm

Tuesday 15th August 2023 10.00am-4.00pm

Tuesday 22nd August 2023 10.00am-4.00pm

Tuesday 29th August  2023 10.00am-4.00pm

NOW MORE WORKSHOP DATES: AUTUMN WORKSHOPS!

Tuesday 5th September  2023 10.00am-4.00pm

Thursday 7th September 2023 10.00-4.00pm

Tuesday 12th September  2023 10.00am-4.00pm

Thursday 14th September 2023 10.00-4.00pm

Tuesday 19th September 2023 10.00am-4.00pm

Thursday 21st September 2023 10.00-4.00pm

Tuesday26th September  2023 10.00am-4.00pm

Thursday 28th September 2023 10.00-4.00pm

Tuesday 3rd October  2023 10.00am-4.00pm

Thursday 5th October 2023 10.00am-4.00pm

Tuesday 10th October 2023 10.00am-4.00pm

Thursday 12th October 2023 10.00am-4.00pm

Tuesday 17th October 2023 10.00am-4.00pm

Thursday 19th October 2023 10.00am-4.00pm

Tuesday 24th October 2023 10.00am-4.00pm

Thursday 26th October 2023 10.00am-4.00pm

(More classes to be arranged, and workshop available for one-to-one classes on other days by arrangement).

 Suitable for beginners as well as those with experience of etching who wish to develop their work further.        £75.00 per day. Includes a copper plate and high quality printing paper for your initial session. Join at any time. No obligation to do whole course.

The course will cover:

Transferring a drawing to an etching plate- copper or zinc. Methods of etching including: hard ground, soft ground, aquatint, drypoint, use of ferric chloride, use of colour inks. Printing methods. How to print to a high standard, using high-quality printmaking papers.

Beginners will be taught all the basic processes to enable you to work independently. I will help you to select methods with which you can create your own images. Tools will all be provided. All printmaking inks, chemicals and other materials will be provided. The classes will be small, with a maximum of 4-5 people. This ensures that plenty of help/tuition is available to each person. As the work develops, students may wish to purchase more plates and paper, and this will be supplied at cost price. You will have the use of two etching presses during the workshop. All you need to bring are clothes that you don’t mind getting ink on, and/or an apron. 

The sessions will be held in the grounds of East Pines, Mettingham. The studio is set in rambling gardens, surrounded by trees and fields. A perfect space for developing skills and ideas, supported by expert tuition. Coffee and tea etc. will be available. Bring a packed lunch. 

I am a painter and printmaker and teacher. I studied Fine Art at Camberwell and Norwich Schools of Art, graduating with 1st Class Hons in Fine Art Printmaking.  I then specialised in postgraduate printmaking at The Slade. I exhibit paintings and etchings nationally and internationally. I have been teaching Art at all levels since 1992.

  

For enquiries and bookings, contact me by phone, email or message:

Dom Theobald

East Pines, Mettingham, NR35 1TD

Phone: 07747 754608

Email: dominictheobald1@gmail.com.                    Website:domtheobald.com

Instagram: Dom Theobald Art

Etching and Plate.jpg
IMG_1757.jpg
IMG_3092.jpg
372920718_2449849841850174_3521638919541792656_n.jpg
IMG_3065.jpg
IMG_3311.jpg
bottom of page